Skip to content

Leadership group sets momentum for next campaign for KU

April 23, 2010

A leadership group has been formed to continue preparations for the next comprehensive campaign for the University of Kansas. The group, the Campaign Organizing Committee, held its first meeting April 23.

The committee will make recommendations such as the working goal, timeline and overall messaging for the campaign—the fourth in the university’s history. Committee members will identify alumni, corporate leaders and friends to engage as volunteers, set strategies and review campaign progress to date.

“We’re fortunate to have a highly talented group of alumni and friends to provide guidance for the next campaign for KU,” said Kurt Watson, chairman of the KU Endowment Board of Trustees. “They will establish the groundwork that will be crucial in the success of this major effort for KU.”

KU First: Invest in Excellence—the most recent fundraising campaign for KU—brought in more than $653 million. It spanned from 1998 through 2004. In fiscal 2008 and 2009, donors set records in outright gifts and pledges to KU. In 2009, they donated $106.4 million; in 2008, they donated $94 million.

“Our campaign efforts for the university and the KU Hospital are well under way with volunteer recruitment, goal setting and leadership gift solicitations. We need to make sure we have the resources in place before we formally announce the campaign goal, and this committee will be instrumental in this assessment,” said Dale Seuferling, president of KU Endowment. Seuferling helped lead the last campaign to its successful completion.

Chancellor Bernadette Gray-Little said the campaign will be a catalyst for the university to achieve higher aspirations. “This will be a milestone in KU’s history,” she said. “With support from our loyal alumni and friends, we can ensure KU’s place among the nation’s greatest universities.”

Campaign Organizing Committee members include:

  • Joe and Jean Brandmeyer of El Paso, Texas
  • Howard E. Cohen of Leawood, Kan.
  • Linda Zarda Cook of Concord, Mass.
  • David B. Dillon of Cincinnati
  • Jill S. Docking of Wichita, Kan.
  • John B. Dicus of Topeka, Kan.
  • Forrest E. and Sally S. Hoglund (Honorary) of Dallas
  • Drue Jennings of Prairie Village, Kan.
  • Joe C. and Susan A. Morris of Leawood, Kan.
  • Charles E. and Anne Jones Rhoades of Mission Hills, Kan.
  • Charles T. Sunderland of Overland Park, Kan.
  • Michael G. Shinn of Beachwood, Ohio
  • Kurt D. and Sue Watson of Andover, Kan.
  • Thomas G. Wiggans II of Olathe, Kan.

Institutional Leadership:

  • Bernadette Gray-Little, chancellor
  • Barbara Atkinson, executive vice chancellor and executive dean, School of Medicine
  • Danny Anderson, interim provost, executive vice chancellor
  • Bob Page, CEO of The University of Kansas Hospital
  • Dale Seuferling, president of KU Endowment

KU Endowment is the official fundraising and fund-management foundation for KU. Founded in 1891, KU Endowment was the first foundation of its kind at a U.S. public university.

Posted on
April 23, 2010
Share this article
Connect with Us
Michelle Keller
Assistant Vice President, Communications & Donor Relations
Latest News
A message from President Dan Martin
ODOKU_Email_Banner (1)
Donors give more than $2.6 million on One Day. One KU. to fuel the next big idea
wonderful company
University of Kansas renames Institute for Sustainable Engineering after The Wonderful Company

You’re invited to help us create a future where students have uncommon educational experiences, researchers make life-affirming discoveries, and together, we change the world for the better. Ever Onward we go into a future of infinite possibilities.